Monday, February 01, 2010

Prometheus 'Hall of Fame' ballot announced

The Prometheus Award Hall of Fame ballot has been announced, and I nominated two of the four works that will be on the ballot: "Cryptonomicon" by Neal Stephenson and " 'Repent Harlequin!' Said the Ticktockman" by Harlan Ellison. Balloting will be decided by members of the Libertarian Futurist Society.

Here's the official press release, minus contact info at the end:


The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced the finalists for the Prometheus Hall of Fame Award. This category honors novels, novellas, stories, graphic novels, anthologies, films, TV shows/series, plays, poems, music recordings and other works of fiction first published or broadcast more than five years ago.

The Libertarian Futurist Society’s Hall of Fame committee has selected four finalists for the 2010 award, from a field of 13 nominated works:

“As Easy as A.B.C.,” a story by Rudyard Kipling (1912)
Cryptonomicon, a novel by Neal Stephenson (1999)
“No Truce with Kings,” a story by Poul Anderson (1964)
“’Repent, Harlequin!’ Said the Ticktockman,” a story by Harlan Ellison (1965)

Final voting will take place in June and early July of 2010. All members of the Libertarian Futurist Society are eligible to vote. The winner will be announced after the counting of the votes; the award will be presented in a ceremony at the World Science Fiction Convention.

The Prometheus awards for Best Novel, Best Classic Fiction (Hall of Fame) and (occasional) Special awards honor outstanding science fiction/fantasy that explores the possibilities of a free future, champions human rights (including personal and economic liberty), dramatizes the perennial conflict between individuals and coercive governments, or critiques the tragic consequences of abuse of power--especially by the State.

The Prometheus Award, sponsored by the Libertarian Futurist Society (, was established in 1979, making it one of the most enduring awards after the Nebula and Hugo awards, and oneof the oldest fan-based awards currently in sf. Presented annually since 1982 at the World Science Fiction Convention, the Prometheus Awards include a gold coin and plaque for each ofthe winners.

The Hall of Fame, established in 1983, focuses on older classic fiction, including novels, novellas, short stories, poems and plays. Past Hall of Fame award winners range from Robert Heinlein and Ayn Rand to Ray Bradbury and Ursula LeGuin.

Founded in 1982, the Libertarian Futurist Society sponsors the annual Prometheus Award and Prometheus Hall of Fame; publishes reviews, news and columns in the quarterly "Prometheus"; arranges annual awards ceremonies at the WorldCon; debates libertarian futurist issues (such as private space exploration); and provides fun and fellowship for libertarian SF fans.

A list of past winners of LFS awards can be found on the LFS web site at

1 comment:

愛鋒頭 said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.